Update from Hilton Head: Lady Lions take on Greenville Cougars

On Monday, March 17, the Georgian Court University tennis team lost 4-5 to the Greenville College Cougars.

The match was played at Plantation Point as part of Spring Break 2008 on Hilton Head Island.

While we lost, the entire team played really well. My doubles partner Corrine Stinemire and I won our match (8-4) and I won my singles match (6-1, 6-0). Also earning singles points for the Lions were freshman Natalie Grieci (6-7 [4-7], 6-4, [14-12]) and Stinemire (6-3, 6-4).

Corrine and I are now 500 as a doubles team (1-1), including the win in Hilton Head.

The Lady Lions will finish off the spring season on Saturday, April 12, at 11 a.m. This is a home match and it would be great if we had a cheering section other than our parents. Hint hint.

Back on the island . . .

It feels so amazing to win a singles match. I won’t lie: I’m not the greatest singles player in the world. My passion is for doubles, the thinking tennis player’s game.

Winning today was one of my career highlights. Even coach Adrienne Ballingall agreed that she has never seen my strokes as sharp. I don’t know what came over me!

While we will leave Hilton Head 0-2, we like to measure our success in smiles. It’s not always winning that counts, but learning lessons along the way.

Tomorrow brings kayaking and a clinic with two tennis pros at Van Der Meer Tennis Academy. Look for a piece on that exciting excursion tomorrow.

PHOTO: Moi, serving at yesterday’s match. (Katarina Dockum)
Leave a comment

Filed under Georgian Court University, Hilton Head, Tennis, Van Der Meer Academy

Leave a Reply

