Update from Hilton Head: Van der Meer tennis

Not only did we kayak today, but we busted our butts on the tennis courts.

We were given a private clinic at the Van Der Meer Academy for an hour and a half.

Our tennis pro “Bridge” was from India and he knew how to feed those tennis balls.

He drilled us with forehands, backhands, approach shots, volleys and serves.

Although we were dripping by the end, it was well worth it. I felt amazing and wanted to go back for more.

The academy was gorgeous. The weather was gorgeous. It was an enriching experience. Van der Meer has created a haven for tennis pros, students and the like who want to truly develop in the world of tennis.

I have always said that if I had all the time in the world to make tennis my career, I would. If I had the time to devote to it, I would be a much better tennis player. I know this and it somewhat scares me. Because man would I be good.

For more information, visit the Van der Meer Academy Web site by clicking the link above.

PHOTO: Teammates Natalie Grieci, myself and Corrine Stinemire on a trolley ride through Savannah, Ga. (Katarina Dockum)

Leave a comment

Filed under Hilton Head, Tennis, Van Der Meer Academy

Leave a Reply

