FEMA: Still on Mars

I‘m beginning to think the Federal Emergency Management Agency should join Amy Handlin on Mars. And stay there.

I tried getting in touch with FEMA representatives today, as the agency will address residents’ concerns during the Hazlet Township Meeting on Tuesday. (To be held at 8 p.m.)

After several miscommunications, I was put in touch with a representative, “Angela,” who would not disclose her last name. Angela works in the fire administration office. The number I had originally called was for FEMA’s news desk in the office of public affairs.

Angela claimed she “didn’t even know there was a news desk,” and her initial search for Debra J. Young – the woman at the news desk I had spoken with – did “not turn up anything”

Did I mention that the first time I tried calling today, I got in touch with the legislative office? I asked for that FEMA rep to put me in touch with the NEWS DESK. I got the FIRE administration. FEMA certainly has the best and the brightest working to keep public chaos at a minimum.

After an interesting conversation with Angela, she put me back through to the office of public affairs. To my surprise, Debra J. Young answered the phone: Angela told me Young’s office was in Georgia and that Young had given me a general number, basically alluding to the fact that she probably didn’t want to talk to me anymore or that she would not longer be able to answer my questions.

Which, obviously, she didn’t. Young told me she would put me in touch with the same FEMA representatives I have been calling for weeks. I have still not received any answers to my questions.

FEMA, seriously: This is ridiculous. The agency is fabricating offices and employees, has no idea how to communicate yet still expects the American people to “trust its judgment” when determining flood hazard zones?

That’s like asking me to hand over a whole lot of money to Federal government and trust its judgment when providing programs and agencies that will support and protect the American people.

Oh wait, we do that already, taxpayers. Look how well that’s worked out.

I can’t wait for this meeting on Tuesday.

Alyssa Passeggio and I will be there. FEMA, beware. No one in the Bayshore is particularly happy with your theories at the moment.

1 Comment

Filed under Alyssa Passeggio, Amy Handlin, FEMA, FEMA Meeting, Hazlet

One response to “FEMA: Still on Mars

  1. Joe Wedick

    What kind of cooperation do you really expect from them? Apparently the “Heck of a job, Brownie” playbook is still being perused and used.
    Keep at ’em – keep up the good work!!! Joe Wedick

Leave a Reply

