Accountabily has no party affiliation

There are several political parties in the United States. Today, I don’t want to attend a single one of them.

One of my recent posts was apparently written in the “context of a Republican philosophy.” Let me clarify: Republicans are the only ones I’ve ever heard talk about their political affiliation as basis for a religious sanctity.

I would also like to point out that I sought comments from any and all political parties. I see Republicans are quick to defend themselves, which is good. Pretty much expected, too.

I think my ultimate point was this, and perhaps I shouldn’t have beaten around the bush: Everyone, no matter what their religious or political belief, is individually accountable for their actions.

Don’t blame others. Pardon my phrase, but that’s so lame.

A few other points –

Perhaps “corrupt” was a strong word to describe “all” politicians. In some cases, I think it’s mild. But, as many have pointed out, there are actually some people who want to do good things when serving the public, and who want to be honest about them.

It is often those elected officials who don’t necessarily worry about “who gets the credit” or “whose idea it was,” just that people come together, united around one common goal – and accomplish it.

If it doesn’t work out, that’s OK: OWN UP TO IT. I don’t recall any official being chastised for being honest, even if something they did was wrong. Case in point: former President Bill Clinton. (I liked Mr. Clinton a lot; I like both the Clintons. Just because he “had sexual relations” with some chick he wasn’t married to does not, in my eyes, take away the good things he did for both our country and the economy during his time in office.)

I just can never see the sense in trying to blame someone else – whether it be God, a god, another political party, another elected official or perhaps Satan – when the action was yours, and yours alone. Or a group’s. Or a party’s.

If you do it, own it. Actions both speak and lie louder than words. In a society ridden with many people trying to pull one over and advance themselves, it’s very difficult to trust anyone. Maybe that’s where my jump to the word “corrupt” came in. Aren’t we all just a tiny bit selfish, inside? I think so, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing. It’s when we let others guide us to a decision that might not have been ours to make, or in our minds to make.

It’s tough to trust anyone, let alone people making big decisions for the majority. I think a healthy dose of accountability would go far in today’s politics, no matter what party.

Thank you to those who have e-mailed and commented. Keep ’em coming. While I might not be able to moderate your comment the second you post it, rest assured I will certainly pay it attention as soon as the laptop glued to my waist reminds me I have un-moderated comments.
Leave a comment

Filed under Democrats, religion, Republicans

Leave a Reply

