My weekend of babies and boardwalks

I spent my Saturday in Monmouth County doing what I refer to as “relaxing.” This is rare in my case, so I enjoy this time as much as possible when it comes along.

I attended a baby shower. I know, baby shower = relaxation? Not really, but something caught my attention: the cake.

I wasn’t able to get the exact bakery, but I heard it was from a shop in Scotch Plains, N.J. This cake was seriously gorgeous, something off the Food Network. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to taste it either :-( But if looks were an indicator, I’m sure it tasted amazing. I will work on pinpointing the cake’s origin and perhaps give this bakery a visit.

The rest of my Saturday was spent doing things I truly enjoy: Eating, drinking and good conversation. I met some friends for dinner at Charlie’s Ocean Grill, in Long Branch.

I haven’t spent a lot of time in that area except for a few business errands, but I have to admit: I would love to start.

The food at Charlie’s was excellent, probably top 15 or 10 on my list. (I’m awfully picky.) I had the sesame seed salmon seared with pineapple teriyaki sauce, which was the best piece of fish I’ve had in a long time. The Appletini – I’m still not quite sure exactly what was in it – was fantastic. One thing I liked about the drink was that it was self-serve style, with a martini glass and a regular glass to pour from. This made for a larger portion and much more fun.

I was also given a tour of Pier Village. I suggest checking out the Web site, as it can show you the area much better than I can (I left my camera in the car!). But I can tell you the ice cream at Carmella’s Cafe was divine. A little soft, but I think that was from the humidity.

The area was recently rebuilt and is still in the process of being completed. There are apartments, restaurants, shops and – of course – the boardwalk.

Long Branch is certainly not what it used to be. It’s become a Shore hub, probably one of the better-kept secrets. Now that I know it exists, I’m sure I will be stopping by more often. It’s a shame some places, including Asbury Park, still have a tainted image/association because of what’s happened in years past, perhaps what some would call past social and economic trends.

I’ve always been one to see things for myself.

The present holds pleasant surprises for those who haven’t visited these Shore towns in a while, including Asbury Park. I drove through Asbury about a week ago and was happy to see some of the shops and restaurants full of people.

There are many nooks and crannies of the Jersey Shore I have yet to explore. Ah, but I only get so many hours in one day ;-)

A thank you to my hosts for the evening. I had a blast!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby Shower, Cake, Carmella's Cafe, Charlie's Ocean Grill, Long Branch

Leave a Reply

